Inauguration of Annual Sports Meet 2019

Institute of Law, Nirma University, organised the Annual Sports Meet 2019 of the Nirma University. The inaugural ceremony was held on 25th September and the meet was opened by Mr Rudra Pratap Singh, the left-arm pacer who was the part of the 2007 T20 World Cup-winning squad. The event was graced by the presence of Dr Anup K. Singh, Director General, Nirma University, Mr G. Ramchandran Nair, Executive Registrar, Prof (Dr) Purvi Pokhariyal, Director & Dean Institute of Law, Nirma University, and heads of other sister institutes. Mr R. P. Singh in his address gave an anecdotal account of his life where he talked about how he was dropped from the Indian Team and how after intense training he was roped in the team again. He asserted that it is imperative for us to keep working hard and hard work will always be recognized. He also emphasised that having a sportsman spirit was far more important than having a competitive spirit. The sports meet will include an array of both track and field events, the track events were 100m, 200m, 400m, 1500m; and the field events being long jump, triple jump, javelin throw, shotput, etc. The inaugural ceremony also included march past and the award for the best marching contingent was awarded to Institute of Science, Nirma University. The Sports meet will be a 3-day long event in which various students from all the institutes of Nirma University will be participating. The vote of thanks was delivered by Dr Biswa Kalyan Dash (Faculty Co-ordinator).

Get our Newsletter